The Carpathian Mountains, Romania’s major physical feature, define the country’s overall topographical pattern. Roughly forming an arc in the center of the country, their various branches separate the Transylvanian Plateau in the center from a wide band of lowlands on the edges, extending to the country’s eastern, southern, and western borders.

Romania has 9 historical regions  with counties (districts).

1. BANAT with counties: Timis; Caras-Severin
2. BUCOVINA with counties: Suceava
3. CRISANA with counties: Salaj; Bihor; Arad
4. DOBROGEA with counties: Tulcea; Constanta
5. MARAMURES with counties: Satu-Mare; Maramures
6. MOLDOVA with counties: Neamt; Bacau; Botosani; Vrancea; Iasi; Vaslui; Galati
7. MUNTENIA with counties: Arges;Teleorman; Dambovita; Prahova; Buzau; Braila; Ialomita; Calarasi; Ilfov; Giurgiu and Bucharest City
8. OLTENIA with counties: Mehedinti; Gorj; Dolj; Valcea; Olt
9. TRANSILVANIA with counties: Bistrita-Nasaud; Cluj; Mures; Hunedoara; Alba; Sibiu; Brasov; Covasna; Harghita